WELCOME TO

OUR ATTRACTIONS

LAVA-DOME

Earthquakes and volcanic eruptions prove that the Earth is in constant flux. Continents shift, mountains are created and crumble away, and volcanoes erupt, destroying whatever is in their path and leaving behind new land. From a geological point of view, volcanoes are very short-term events making them environmental phenomena that people can experience with all their senses. The timeline shrinks to a human scale making it easily perceptible.

READ MORE

LAVA CAVERNS

Created by humans over the centuries, the historic Lava Caverns are one of a kind and are a must-see for visitors to the Vulkanpark Osteifel and Lake Laacher See.

Over an area of almost 3 km2, a network of underground lava caverns is spread out below the town of Mendig. At a depth of 32 metres, you can discover a subterranean “landscape” that is unique in this world. Long ago, when the volcanoes erupted and the land was covered in fire and ash, a stream of lava also flowed towards Mendig.

READ MORE
Museumslay 12

MUSEUMSLAY

The Museumslay is a permanent-exhibition, open-air museum displaying the various equipment used to carry out the difficult work that went on at the former mine. At the entrance to the museum, visitors are greeted by a horse engine, a true replica of the winches that were used in days gone by to convey the heavy Mendig basalt rock above ground from the rocky caverns below.

READ MORE

WINGERT`S ROCK FACE

Today scientists can say with certainty what happened around 13,000 years ago when the Lake Laacher See volcano erupted. Soil exploration at Wingertsbergwand near Mendig has allowed them to explain the history of the Lake Laacher See eruption by comparing samples with soil from currently active volcanoes. Vegetation discovered under the tuff and pumice deposits has allowed them to deduce what the East Eifel region looked like before the catastrophe.

READ MORE
Wingertsbergwand 06

HERZLICH WILLKOMMEN IM

AKTUELLES

Herbstferien

Gehen Sie vom 04.10. bis 31.10.2022 auf vulkanische Entdeckungsreise.

UNSERE ATTRAKTIONEN

LAVA-DOME

Erdbeben und Vulkanausbrüche zeigen, dass die Erde in einem ständigen Wandel ist. Kontinente verschieben sich, Gebirge entstehen und vergehen, Vulkane brechen aus, lassen neues Land entstehen oder zerstören es. Vulkane sind aus geologischer Sicht oft sehr kurzfristige Ereignisse und gehören damit zu den geologischen Phänomenen, die der Mensch mit seinen Sinnen erfassen kann. Die Zeitachse schrumpft auf ein menschliches Maß und wird so begreifbar.

WEITERLESEN

LAVAKELLER

Einzigartig auf der Welt sind die historischen Lavakeller, durch den Lauf der Zeit von Menschenhand entstanden und heute ein unbedingtes Muss für den Besucher des Vulkanparks Osteifel/Laacher See.

Auf einer Fläche von nahezu 3 qkm spannt sich unterhalb der Stadt Mendig ein Netz von unteriridischen Lavakellern. In 32 Metern Tiefe befindet sich die auf der Welt einmalige unterirdische „Landschaft“. Damals, als die Vulkane ausbrachen und das Land mit Glut und Asche bedeckten, floss auch ein Lavastrom in die Richtung Mendigs.

WEITERLESEN
Museumslay 12

MUSEUMSLAY

Die Museumslay ist ein Freilichtmuseum als Dauerausstellung mit verschiedenen Zeugnissen der schweren Arbeit der Großväter auf dem ehemaligen Grubengelände. Bereits am Eingang zur Museumslay erwartet den Besucher ein sogenanntes „Göpelwerk“, ein originalgetreuer Nachbau der in früheren Zeiten verwendeten Winden, mit der die schweren Mendiger Basaltsteine aus den Felsenkellern ans Tageslicht befördert wurden.

WEITERLESEN

WINGERTS­BERG­WAND

Wissenschaftler können heute genau sagen, was vor rund 13.000 Jahren beim Ausbruch des Laacher-See-Vulkans passierte. Bodenaufschlüsse an der Wingertsbergwand bei Mendig lassen die Wissenschaft durch Vergleiche mit derzeit aktiven Vulkanen die Geschichte der Laacher-See-Eruption erklären. Vegetationsfunde unter den Tuff- und Bimsablagerungen geben Rückschlüsse darauf, wie die Osteifel vor der Katastrophe ausgesehen hat.

WEITERLESEN
Wingertsbergwand 06
Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies. Einige sind essenziell, während andere uns helfen, die Seite und Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern.  Individuell anpassen. Individuell anpassen.
Alle akzeptieren.