Museumslay 11

MUSEUMSLAY

Open-air museum in Mendig

Discover our fascinating reconstructions!

The Museumslay is a permanent-exhibition, open-air museum located approximately 400 m from the Lava Dome in Brauerstraße. It displays the various equipment used to carry out the difficult work that went on at the former mine. Belonging to the town of Mendig, this quarry site – known as a Lay in the local vernacular – was the jewel in the crown of the Mendig masonry tradition.

Here you can find out about old working methods such as the individual steps for rupturing basalt rocks. Ashlar, made from the local volcanic rocks, is also on display as are artistic sculptures. A colliery blacksmith, who would have made tools for the miners, was also located on this site.

Set off on a tour of the Museumslay and enjoy a journey back in time to when the miners and masons of Mendig toiled away at the basalt rock.

Open all year round. Entry is free of charge.

Museumslay 14

At the entrance to the museum, visitors are greeted by a horse engine, a true replica of the winches that were used in days gone by to convey the heavy Mendig basalt rock above ground from the rocky caverns below.

Museumslay 09

On entering the site you see a very special exhibit – the Schläsch Express, a replica of an old mine train complete with wagons. To the right of the site you can find cobblestones as they were previously used, a Roman fountain made from tuff stone and various natural stone examples used in road construction.

museumslay huette

In the lower section of the Museumslay is a mason’s hut and a pit crane. The crane was used to load stones and take them away for further processing.

Address

Museumslay
Brauerstraße 20
56743 Mendig

Get married at the Museumslay

As an “outpost” of the Mendig registry office, weddings may be held at this venerable location if a suitable date can be found.

Museumslay 11

MUSEUMSLAY

Freilichtmuseum in Mendig

Entdecken Sie unsere faszinierenden Nachbauten!

Die Museumslay ist ein Freilichtmuseum als Dauerausstellung mit verschiedenen Zeugnissen der schweren Arbeit der Großväter auf dem ehemaligen Grubengelände. Auf dem Gelände der Stadt Mendig in der Brauerstraße, etwa 400 Meter vom Lava-Dome entfernt, entstand ein Kleinod der großen Mendiger Steinmetztradition.

Der Besucher kann sich über alte Arbeitsmethoden, wie z. B. das Reißen eines Basaltsteins in den einzelnen Arbeitsschritten, informieren. Werksteine aus heimischem Vulkangestein sind ebenso ausgestellt, wie künstlerisch gefertigte Skulpturen. Auch eine Grubenschmiede fand ihren Platz auf der Lay. Hier wurden früher die Werkzeuge geschmiedet.

Brechen Sie auf zu einem Rundgang durch die Museumslay – eine kleine Zeitreise durch die Epoche der harten Arbeit von Steinmetzen am Mendiger Stein. 

Ganzjährig geöffnet. Der Eintritt ist kostenfrei.

Museumslay 14

Bereits am Eingang zur Museumslay erwartet den Besucher ein sogenanntes „Göpelwerk“, ein originalgetreuer Nachbau der in früheren Zeiten verwendeten Winden, mit der die schweren Mendiger Basaltsteine aus den Felsenkellern ans Tageslicht befördert wurden.

Museumslay 09

Direkt am Eingang zur Lay findet man ein besonderes Prunkstück – den Schläsch-Express, ein Nachbau einer alten Grubenbahn mit Loren. Im rechten Teil des Geländes entdeckt man Straßenpflaster, wie früher verwendet, einen tuffsteinernen Römerbrunnen sowie verschiedene natursteinerne Stücke aus dem Straßenbau.

museumslay huette

Im unteren Bereich der Museumslay stehen eine Steinmetzhütte sowie ein Grubenkran. Mit diesem Kran wurden früher die Steine verladen und anschließend zur Weiterverarbeitung abtransportiert.

Adresse

Museumslay
Brauerstraße 20
56743 Mendig

Heiraten auf der Lay

Als „Außenstelle“ des Mendiger Standesamts werden auf Wunsch und mit entsprechender Terminvereinbarung Trauungen auf der altehrwürdigen Lay durchgeführt.